Tinapang Salinas

Lucky, lucky me: Cavite is tinapa country! You can get tinapa any time of the day and even ’til about 7 or 8 p.m. in talipapa. (“Talipapa rhymes with Tinapa!” my 4 y.o. might say.)

Cavite makes different types of tinapa but the most popular and abundant in our area are tinapang bangus, tinapang galunggong, and tinapang salinas. If you wish to hoard tinapa, go to Rosario or Salinas. There you can find big and small tinapa industries. After you make your purchase, you may want to salute the many housewives who patiently debone and pack all those tinapas.

tinapang salinas

(c) tinapang salinas by ConniesNotebook.com

Tinapang salinas is one of my favorite types of tinapa. I know that it’s rather hard to eat because of the many bones it presents. But I love the taste of its flesh and scales. And I truly enjoy picking on it with my hands and dipping it in sawsawang kamatis. They’re great with salted egg, too!

Yuuum. What’s your favorite tinapa?

7 thoughts on “Tinapang Salinas

  1. tinapang bangus favorite ko pero gusto ko deboned. lol. meron ditong nabibili yung frozen na from saranggani (hometown ni pakyaw). we microwave it kasi mas mabilis at hindi masyado nangangamoy. nagutom ako.

  2. there’s another famous brand from Cavite. hindi ko lang maalala ang pangalan. it’s what we send over to relatives in California.

    have you tried making fish lumpia using tinapang bangus? ;o)

  3. Matutuwa si Alex sa captcha mo. 😀

    I have been craving for tinapang galungong. That is my favorite kasi very easy to eat, ayoko ng matinik! Masarap din kasama nian nilagang talbos ng kamote.

    Ay kakagutom.

  4. Fish lover ako, and any type ng tinapa is welcome with me! Especially kung may side na kamatis, sibuyas at itlog na maalat! Whew!

    I remember, long before the ‘Binalot’ chain came to be, may nadadaanan kaming kainan sa kanto sa Bacoor. They’re known for adobong manok, baboy or tapa. Pero meron din silang tinapang bangus. That’s what I always get!

    • Hi, Armando. Yes, bagay na bagay talaga ang itlog na maalat at kamatis (even sibuyas) with tinapa. We often have that kind of food setup here at home. ;o)

      As for this kainan sa kanto ng Bacoor: I’m not sure if I’ve eaten there. Can you remember where it is exactly? All I see now is a flyover that leads to Talaba. That is, if I’m coming from coastal road.

Leave a comment